His foot is there intentionally. You cant argue against that. It wasnt put there by anybody else. Nobody can say why he put it there, if it was to kick the ball or if it was just a reflex to try and get underneath him to prevent grounding, but it doesnt matter. Maybe he just got unlucky and the place his foot jumped to just happened to be where GI was going to ground the ball. Doesnt matter, the end result is Farah kicking the ball out of his hands.
The only thing stopping GI from scoring was an act of foul play. Thats the textbook definition of a penalty try. Intentional act? Maybe. Probably not. Doesnt matter.
If Farah stuck his hand out as a reflex and smacked GI around the face, causing him to drop the ball itd be the same result. Farah made an illegal challenge on the ball carrier causing the try to be stopped. Open and close.
Is it even illegal to do that? I mean, you see guys most weeks ground the ball on peoples feet - people intentionally put their feet there to stop a ball being grounded when players are being held up over the line and there are never penalties for it. I dont think ive ever seen a penalty awarded for someone intentionally stopping a try with their boot (when its not sliding in or kicking dangerously). Can you show me where in the rules it says it?
I would go as far as to say its totally not illegal to prevent a try being grounded by putting your foot there. Its the kicking/sliding in that could possibly injure someone - thats the illegal play.
As far as sliding in on the knees, or sliding in with studs up - yeah ive seen penalties for that. Never seen one for someone putting their foot under the ball. Can you show me where it says you cant do it please?
There is 100% an argument to be made that Farah was just trying to make the tackle, inglis grounds it on his foot and knocks it on.
The commentators blew up about it.
Even wally said it was a knock on.
If you tackle someone in the middle of the field and your shoulder dislodges the ball - and then it travels forwards - its a knock on.
If in the field of play a tackle is made and if the ball is dislodged in the wrestle by someones head, and travels forward, its a knock on.
If someone is trying to score a try and a foot dislodges the ball (not sliding in, not coming in studs up, not kicking) and it travels forward - its a knock on.
As gus said, whether he has played at it or not - the ball still goes forward, and bounces off his forearm and goes forward. If its an illegal act, they should award a penalty try, or an 8 point try. Not just a flat out try.
I would have been happy if they said - its illegal to do that with the foot - its an 8 point try. Or a penalty try. Or if its foul play but he scored anyway, sin bin farah.
Its most certainly not just an out and out try.
Just a crazy decision.